*

It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:33 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Adding self scanned maps
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 4:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:49 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Norwich UK.
Ok, I have got a PNG and a TIFF self scanned map. Followed the instructions on the help section to add the scan maps to MMNav, but after I have selected the folder file and click OK, the Memory Map software says there was a problem and closes the whole program....?

Any ideas anyone???

Scott.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding self scanned maps
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:30 pm
Posts: 896
Hi Scott,

If you're using Win7, then try selecting : Map : Map List... : Refresh Map List... , and change the Map Folder at the foot of the window to a folder NOT in the Program Files path.

Cheers, Alan.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding self scanned maps
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:49 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Norwich UK.
Ok it's trying to work, but now I get an error on the PNG file that says the color has to be set to Pallette...............?? How the hell do I do that...

If I try the TIFF file it comes up with an error that there are 3 versions / pixels..???

Thanks for your help Alan.!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding self scanned maps
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:30 pm
Posts: 896
scott.l. wrote:
the color has to be set to Pallette...............?? How the hell do I do that....!
Hi Scott,

That error message normally means that the map (or another .PNG file in the search path) is not in the required 8-bit (256 colours) format. I use an old version of Paintshop-Pro to reduce the colour depth (palette) but there are other image processing apps, some free.

Personally, I avoid the TIF(F) format (except pre-calibrated Geo-TIFs) as I believe it is only a "wrapper" for various different formats. You may even find that just importing into PsP, or similar, and exporting again in (nominally) the same format will help MM to read the file.

Cheers, Alan.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding self scanned maps
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:49 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Norwich UK.
Ok, I saved it as a 256 BMP, and then converted it to PNG, but its still saying the same thing?
I can't see anywhere in my Paint to select 256, hence I saved it as a 256 BMP first.

I am really keen to get this uploaded as I wish to track our route when we go to Morocco.

FYI.
http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundrai ... sTeam=true

I really appreciate your help Alan...

Scott.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding self scanned maps
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:30 pm
Posts: 896
Hi Scott,

One of the other users on this forum recommended dimin viewer n5 which appears to be free. It looks to do all that's needed (and much more). I have it installed on my desktop but normally just use my trusty PsP as there's less of a learning curve. ;)

Cheers, Alan.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding self scanned maps
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:49 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Norwich UK.
Thanks for that Alan, I will give it a try.
Just got a printer company to give me several different files types of the scanned map to try and still no luck.
Am heading out tonight to see my folks and they have a good paint program, so will try there also.
I am bloody determined to get this to work!
Did call memory map technical support, but they could not help, as they can't offer any help to reduce the file color size which is what we 'think' is the problem.

Scott.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding self scanned maps
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:49 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Norwich UK.
Yes..............!!!! Bingo!!!!!
Thanks so much Alan, that little program did the trick!!
Now all I have to do is calibrate it and figure out how to put it on the S7000...

Much appreciated...!!!

Thanks,
Scott.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding self scanned maps
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 5:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:49 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Norwich UK.
All done Alan, thanks.....
Map now installed in S7000 and calibrated.....

Will now be able to navigate during my Morocco Overland Expedition..!

Cheers....
Scott.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding self scanned maps
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:30 pm
Posts: 896
Hi Scott,

Glad you've got it all sorted. But maybe not quite complete yet, you might find this placenames file useful. :D

Now all you need is an Elevation Data file. ;)

Cheers, Alan.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group