*

It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:47 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3rd party maps on a Adventurer 3500.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:50 pm
Posts: 0
Hi guys.
Basically, I've bought in a load of the above for work and require the use of maps that have been made specifically for our own use. I've transferred them onto the SD card and when the overlay tap is hit and "Show all" is clicked, It shows the maps but only the outlines of the area they all individually cover.
When I select a map it comes up with license manager stating I need to activate a "3rd party Maps" License. Where do I find this???????

Any help would be greatly appreciated


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd party maps on a Adventurer 3500.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:30 pm
Posts: 896
Hi,

In what format are the map files? In general, they need to be converted to .QCT format on a PC before loading onto a SD card to use in any of the Mobile Devices.

The 3rd party maps upgrade ("Discoverer to Navigator" license) is now only available from the US website, follow the link that I posted in this thread.

Cheers, Alan.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd party maps on a Adventurer 3500.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 5:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:47 pm
Posts: 0
why they need to be converted ? what does SD stand for ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd party maps on a Adventurer 3500.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:30 pm
Posts: 896
Hi,

The Adventurer can only read .QCT and .QC3 format map files which are stored on its internal micro SD HC (Secure Digital High Capacity) memory card.

Cheers, Alan.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd party maps on a Adventurer 3500.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 3:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 988
The program only uses maps in the QuickChart format (QCT). If you use other maps (GeoTIFF, BSB, etc.), the program actually takes that image and converts it to QCT before displaying it. This requires a Navigator license (or, more correctly, the Import 3rd Party maps feature). The license would give you activations for both PC and mobile devices, so if you have the feature to convert the maps in the first place, you should also have the activations to display those converted maps on your mobile device.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd party maps on a Adventurer 3500.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:57 am
Posts: 0
Hi I have got the upgrade licence to explorer got for $50 and would like to apply it to the 3500 not to an SD card could anyone tell me if this is possible or is it only possible to apply other mobile devices.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd party maps on a Adventurer 3500.
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 2:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:04 pm
Posts: 1786
melmore,

No, Adventurer unit licences are held by the MicroSD card not by the unit itself

Thanks

_________________
"Geography is just physics slowed down, with a couple of trees stuck in it" - Terry Pratchett


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group